Isabella Muir, author of the Janie Juke mystery series, set in Sussex in the late 1960s, as well as a short story anthology: Ivory Vellum.

Photo of Isabella Muir, Chindi Authors

Having spent twenty-five years editing and managing the production of health-related training materials, Isabella rediscovered her love of writing fiction during two happy years working on and completing her MA in Professional Writing.

Since then Isabella has a short story collection and three novels in the Sussex Crime mystery series.

In each of the novels – set in the late 1960s – we meet Janie Juke, a young librarian, who is an avid lover of Agatha Christie stories – in particular Hercule Poirot. Janie discovers that all she has learned from the Queen of Crime can be put to good use in solving mysteries.

The setting for the Sussex Crime mystery series is based on the area where Isabella was born and lived most of her life.  When she thinks of Tamarisk Bay she pictures her birthplace in St Leonards-on-sea, East Sussex and its surroundings.

Isabella is half-Italian and has enjoyed exploring her Italian roots in the latest book in the series, The Invisible Case.

Aside from her love of words, Isabella has a love of all things caravan-like. She has enjoyed several years travelling in the UK and abroad and in recent times has been running a small campsite in West Sussex, with her husband. Her faithful companion, Scottish terrier Hamish, is never far from her side.

Books by Isabella Muir

All books are available on in paperback and on Kindle from Amazon:

Click here for a link to The Tapestry Bag
Click here for a link to Lost Property
Click here for a link to The Invisible Case
Click here for a link to Ivory Vellum

Check my networking links via

Follow Isabella on Twitter: @SussexMysteries
Or on Facebook:
Keep up to date with Isabella’s news and views on writing, reading and her publishing journey, by following her website at: